CRPF full form

CRP: – Central Reserve Police Force

The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) is one of seven Central Police Forces (CPFs) controlled by the Ministry of Home Affairs and this is the largest of India’s Central Armed Police Forces. The central government formed the force in order to assist the State/Union Territories in police operations to preserve law and order and counter insurgency. Central Reserve Police is tasked with the full spectrum of internal security duties, from   counterterrorism and counterinsurgency to crowd control to VIP security, from guarding of vital installations to the counter-naxal operations.  It also been deployed in UN peacekeeping missions. During the British period, rising political unrest led to riots and demonstrations, necessitating more centralized force to supplement state forces and help princely states maintain control of citizenry. Rather than empowering state police forces, the British government founded the Crown Representative Police (CRP) in 1939.

Presently CRPF’s 235 battalions consist of 188 Executive Battalions, two Disaster Management Battalions, 10 Rapid Action Force (RAF) Battalions, three Mahila (Female) Battalions, five Signal Battalions, Parliament Duty Group and 10 Commando Battalions for Resolute Action (CoBRA) Battalions. In addition to counter-insurgency and Law and Order duties, the role of CRPF in the General Elections has been very important and vital. The role in elections which CRPF held repeatedly during the past few years   is especially significant for the trouble-ridden states of Jammu and Kashmir, Bihar and in the North East.



Content Protection by
Please Share