Rafael Nadal clinches 14th title with straight sets win over Casper Ruud


Rafael Nadal beat the 23-year Norwegian tennis player, Casper Ruud in three straight sets of 6-3, 6-3, 6-0 to claim the Roland Garros title. 

Roland Garros 2022 Results: The clay court champion Rafael Nadal has won his 14th French Open title after beating first-time Grand Slam finalist Casper Ruud in the men’s singles final on June 5, 2022. Nadal beat the 23-year Norwegian tennis player in three straight sets of 6-3, 6-3, 6-0 to claim the Roland Garros title.

This is Nadal’s recod-breaking 14th Roland Garros and 22nd Grand Slam. The win widen’s Nadal’s lead in the men’s race for the most Grand Slam titles. Nadal also continued his unbeaten streak with the win, as he has never lost a French Open Final before this.

Nadal took on the last match without dropping a set. The game was no way easy, as the young Norwegian tried his best to become the first person to beat Nadal in a Roland Garros final. The relentless Nadal though lived up to his nickname of the King of Clay.

Nadal had got a walkover in the semifinals after Alexander Zverev got retired injured. He had earlier beat world no. 1 Novak Djokovic in the French Open 2022 quarterfinals by 6-2, 4-6, 6-2, 7-6. 

Iga Swiatek wins Women’s French Open 2022 Title

World Number no. 1 Iga Swiatek defeated American teenager Coco Gauff in the women’s singles finals at French Open 2022 by 6-1, 6-3. This is the polish player’s second Roland Garros title. 

Roland Garros Winners List: From 2000- Present


2000Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)Magnus Norman (Sweden)
2001Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)Àlex Corretja (Spain)
2002Albert Costa (Spain)Juan Carlos Ferrero (Spain)
2003Juan Carlos Ferrero  (Spain)Martin Verkerk (Netherlands)
2004Gastón GaudioGuillermo Coria (Argentina)
2005Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Mariano Puerta (Argentina)
2006Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2007Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2008Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2009Roger Federer (Switzerland)Robin Söderling (Sweden)
2010Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Robin Söderling (Sweden)
2011Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2012Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2013Rafael Nadal  (Spain)David Ferrer (Spain)
2014Rafael Nadal (Spain)Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2015Stan Wawrinka (Spain)Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2016Novak Djokovic (Serbia)Andy Murray (Great Britain)
2017Rafael Nadal  (Spain)Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland)
2018Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Dominic Thiem (Austria)
2019Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Dominic Thiem (Austria)
2020Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2021Novak Djokovic (Serbia)Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)
2022Rafael Nadal   (Spain)Casper Ruud (Norway)


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप



Content Protection by DMCA.com
Please Share