AAGSP full form

All Assam Gana Sangram Parishad (AAGSP) is a major political party in Assam state, India. It was founded in the year 1999 by Assam Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad. The president of AAGSP is Jatindra Kumar Borgohain. In the state legislative assembly polls held in 2011, All Assam Gana Sangram Parishad joined the Nationalist Congress party-led Rashtriya Democratic Alliance.

The popular Assam movement was initiated and led by AAGSP along with All Assam Students Union by developing a series of protests and demonstration to oblige the government of India to not give citizenship rights to illegal Bangladeshi immigrants who are residing in Assam and expel them immediately. They tried to protect and provide legislative, administrative and constitutional safeguards to the native residents of Assam.

The AAGSP conducted several agitation programs which mostly were non-violent except the Nellie Massacre during the Assam movement. Finally, the agitation program was ended with the signs of AASU-AAGSP leaders and the Indian government following the Assam Accord.

Later the agitation leaders of the Assam movement founded a political party and named it Assam Gana Parishad. It came to power in Assam state in 1985 Assembly elections and later in the year 1996. It is now a partner of ruling Bharatiya Janata Party coalition.

Please follow and like us:
Content Protection by DMCA.com